Act III Scene 3

So lately I’ve been busy. I’ve been in a play at Cornstock Theatre. This weekend is our performance weekend, in fact tomorrow is our last performance. I wanted to set aside a few minutes of my time and write to the world about how much being in this play has meant to me.

For several years I have been trying to get into theatre. I’ve always been drawn to the theatre. Whenever I saw a play I was always filled with this magical feeling. I wanted to be up there and give this magic out to everyone else. I wanted to know what it was like backstage, what were the actors doing? What was it like to act?

Then back in February, I went to an audition to a play called A Little Princess. I remember trekking through the ice covered park trying to not break my neck on the steep hill. I auditioned as best I could and that Monday I discovered I had made it. I was finally at last in a play.

Since I was minor character in the play, March was a slow month for me, I showed up only a couple days a week. But then when April came, I was in every single night. Honestly I don’t really remember the last time I sat down and had a family dinner with my family. 😛

As time went on I bonded with my fellow actors. We were so much alike and yet so different. Then somewhere in there I realized that I had found my people. These actors were my people and I felt that at last I had found a place of belonging, for so long I have found myself in places where I felt I was the oddball, the weird shaped puzzle piece that didn’t quite fit with the puzzle. But not with this crowd. We were all weird and dramatic characters.

I’m sad that tomorrow is my last performance, I hope to keep in touch with the friends I have made. Perhaps we will see each other again in another performance.

I want to say thank you to the cast and staff for A Little Princess. I have never felt so welcomed by a group of people my age before. Thank you for being you. This play changed my life in a way that I will never forget.

Thank you.

P.S

If you want to catch the last performance, click here to go the website.

Leave a Reply

