A scientific discovery

Today I have made a discovery. So when you heat up a pot with a lid on top the water boils, turns into a vapor and then rises, because as we all know, hot air rises. And after our water vapor rises it hits the lid and condenses, forming water droplets.

Now my hypothesis was that the water would rise and condense on the lid. But then just the same as water rises into the atmosphere, it would form into it’s own cloud and “rain” in the pot.

What I did was pick a nice cool pot and filled it up with cold water. I put it on the stove and turned the stove on. When the water boiled, the water started to evaporate, it rose to the lid and condensed.

But because of the domed shape of the lid, when the water droplets got heavier and heavier because of the water vapor condensing on top of droplets, instead of being pulled down into the pot as I was expecting. The water droplets were pulled down the sides of the lid and on to the bottom of the lid.

So when you lifted the lid and tilted it, the water that had been pulled down there falls out. If you have a slightly large lid covering the pot, the water gets pulled to the bottom of the pot and falls out of the pot.

So although my hypothesis didn’t turn out as I expected it now makes me wonder, why didn’t any clouds get
formed in my pot? Does the air need to rise any higher for actual clouds to form? And what about the atmosphere? The atmosphere is also domed so why doesn’t the water droplets slid to the south pole?

Well I gotta go now. But maybe I should look into those questions and find out why!

Leave a Reply

