The unnamed detective part 3

Jack and Summer were surprised with the amount of people that came, but they just barely managed to get everyone a warm bed, and food. They also had a microphone for Miss. Spring.

She stepped up started to read. “Spring. Spring is the season of life. After the sleepiness of winter, spring comes out for a change. The white, cold, fluffy snow melts slowly away from the warm sun, the animals whom have been hibernating come out in the beauty of spring, the bright green grass grows back in numerous numbers. The sky is no longer gray from the clouds of winter, but now bright white clouds cover the bright blue sky like polka dots!”
“The birds are a twittering, their music reaching the heavens. The flowers spring up from the ground and go into bloom. The wind is quietly whispering, ‘Run my child, enjoy thy self.’ The creeks are running, I hear their sound. The lakes are no long ice but now warm sparkling lakes.
The children run out of the house in joy, for winter is now over.”
“The mother nurses her newborn, while her husband farms in the cool air. Friends greet each other with the phrase. ‘He is risen!’ and ‘He is risen indeed.’ And Easter is eagerly awaited for.”

Spring stepped down and handed the microphone back. I stared at her in unbelief. She was unbelievable. She was wonderful. She had so much color in her. Just how she read the book made me picture in my mind. I could see it. Birds flying back and forth like she said.

My eyes teared up. How I longed for clear skies…for her…wait what!? I didn’t say any of that. No way. I am sad and depressed….I got up and left. I got into my car. And drove off. “I like your car.” A voice said so sudden that the car veered. “GOOD GRACIOUS! Don’t do that!” I yelled. I looked and there was Spring.

“Oh, sorry, I forgot you didn’t notice me here. Funny, someone like you being so observant but you don’t notice someone in your car.” She giggled. I smiled. “What do you need?” “I need someone to take me home.” Spring said. “Jack said you would.” “He what!?” “He didn’t tell you? Must have slipped his mind.”

“Where’s your home?” “Oh over by the river.” “The River!? You certainly cannot be living there!”
The River, is a dangerous place to live by. With all the rain The River has become a raging monster. Constantly devouring homes, and lives. “You can’t live there!” “But I do.” “What if you moved? Like to the warehouse.” Spring’s ever joyful face fell. “I can’t, my father’s very ill. If I move him, he may die. I don’t have any medicine for him. It’s all too expensive. I don’t have a job. No one will give me one.”

I thought. I may some money to spare. I’ll try and give her a hand. “Hey, I have some money, I’ll give you what I can.” Spring lightened up. “You will!? Oh thank you, thank you Kevin.” I dropped Spring off at her home. I looked up and saw something beautiful. A sunbeam. I stared at it, then a cloud started to cover it over. “No! Please stay here! I need you!” I cried out to the sunlight. But it left all the same. I dropped to my knees. “I can’t take it no more!” I cried. Tears streaming down my face. “Why? Why do we have to live in this cursed world? Where there is nothing but rain!” Then I had an idea. I ran home and opened my laptop. I checked the weather. Here it was stormy, stormy, stormy. But not in Maine. Sweet old Maine. I grabbed several bags. Packed clothes, food, and some money. I grabbed two other bags and ran to my car.

I filled it up with gasoline, and hurried to Spring’s house. “Spring! Spring!” I cried. Spring opened the door tears in her eyes. “My father, he’s dead.” Spring said. I was speechless.Spring grabbed me and started to cry. “I can’t take it anymore! I cheer myself up with tales of Spring, Summer, Winter and Fall, I think about lost joys that I say, ‘They’ll come back.’ But every day I can’t see it! It’s not coming. It’s just rain.” I held up Spring and said. “After we bury your dad. Let’s find it. Let’s Colors, Seasons and other joys.”

And so we buried her father. Spring quickly packed her things, including Colors, Seasons and other joys.
She got in and we drove away. Days later, we drive into a small beautiful town, the sun was shining, the birds a twittering. There was green grass, it was Summer. We get out at the town park, green hills cover the landscape. Children are running back and forth squealing with laughter. Spring and I look up to the sky, it was blue, with white clouds.

We hurry into the town and see stores filled to brim with things like, apples, milk, honey, cake. There were colors everywhere! Little girls wearing pink, young women wearing bright red.

And laughter was everywhere. Everyone stopped to greet a friend. “Where are we?” Spring said. “I don’t know. But I think this is heaven.” I took her hand and we walked down the town street. I took off my fedora and threw it away. “My name is Kevin, and I belong here.” And we left behind the colorless world of pain.

The End.

3 thoughts on “The unnamed detective part 3

  1. I LOVED IT GREAT JOB =^D!!!!!>

    Like

  2. Willa Nicole says:

    Great job, Arianna! That was inspiring. 🙂

    Like

  3. Arianna says:

    Thank you. Did you cry at the end? I did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

